Today is the hubby’s birthday!!!! After the amazing birthday
surprises my husband had given me on My birthday, I wanted to have something
just as exciting for him. This is his first birthday with us being a married
couple! I came up with a game plan. Most of my plan depended on me having some
time with our shared car where I could secretly get a couple needed things from
the store. Weeeeeellll, Hubby’s best friend got him an early present of a
computer game, Starcraft, that they both really like. So any opportunity I had
to go alone down to work/school was suddenly gone, since hubs wanted to go play
with his friend during the few times he wasn’t at school at the same time as me.
With finals stress and everything going on the past couple weeks, I was willing
to let him de-stress a bit with friends. But that meant no time to
be able to take the car! Last night I thought I would have it. I was going to a
bachelorette party. But hubby planned a man date while I was at the party. So I
came up with plan B! I would keep the husband awake really late, and thennnn
wake up early, knowing that he would sleep in till at least 10. Brilliant! So I
kept him out with friends till after midnight, and then kept him awake at home
as long as I can. At 1 or 1:30 hubby fell fast asleep. I… couldn’t sleep for a while.
Eventually exhaustion overcame and I fell asleep. I woke up at 5 feeling hot
, stressed and uncomfortable, but soon fell back asleep. I dreamed that my husband woke up
early and wouldn’t leave me alone for 5 minutes so I could get his birthday
surprise ready. I officially woke up at 8, carefully got dressed and left the
room making no more noise than a mouse. Didn’t even get close to waking up the
husband. Success!... I went out to the living room where I finished writing my
24 love notes to him. I know, super cute right? I then remembered that I left
the envelopes in the bedroom, so I snuck back in. It was 8:30. Husband was
AWAKE! What the? This is the man who can sleep till noon any chance he can get,
and it being his birthday, I knew he wanted more sleep. “Good morning sweetie,”
I said cheerfully, “what are you doing awake?” Hubby replied “I heard lots of
footsteps upstairs, and they woke me up.” Drat it all. “Oh, I’m sorry hun, well
I am going to the store, we are out of toothpaste. You go back to sleep.” He laughed,
“you are going to the store to get toothpaste?” he said with a skeptical smirk.
I smiled. “Among other things, now go back to sleep if you want any birthday
surprises.” He chuckled, then asked me to go grab him some juice since he was
obviously not allowed out of the room yet. I readily agreed. While pouring him
the white grape juice, his parents come quietly down the stairs, “is he awake?”
they ask. I say yes and continue pouring his juice. I hear them sing happy
birthday as I put the carton back in the fridge. “Come see him open presents”
his mom said happily in the doorway. I was kinda excited to see him open
presents, even if I did think he should still be asleep. Hubby has a new phone
now! That can take non blurry photos! Exciting! After the morning excitement,
he was still in bed, I handed him the cup of juice and he agreed to play with
his new phone until I had done the shopping and set up everything. Well, the
surprise factor was gone, but at least he didn’t know EVERYTHING about it. I
was so tired. But I got the toothpaste, envelopes and balloons. The envelope
thing was pretty dang cool in my opinion. I kind of suck at blowing up
balloons. But when he finally came out and read my notes of reasons why I love
him, he was so happy. Made it so worth it, even if it wasn’t as Much of a
surprise as I wanted it to be. I seriously love this man.
The rest of the day was absolutely awesome :) we went and saw the movie 42, which was so well done, I highly recommend it for everyone. Best baseball movie ever. And then did a bit of shopping and dinner with the family. All in all, a great day.
The rest of the day was absolutely awesome :) we went and saw the movie 42, which was so well done, I highly recommend it for everyone. Best baseball movie ever. And then did a bit of shopping and dinner with the family. All in all, a great day.
No comments:
Post a Comment