Monday, May 4, 2015

Peru, the first weekend

Wow. I am actually here. In Peru. It took a lot of hard work and A LOT of faith to get here. Bringing along an almost 4 month old baby was a big decision. But one I am now glad we made. He LOVES traveling. I am pretty sure we birthed an angel instead of a baby. seriously. We were traveling for 24 hours, with three flights, two of which were  around six hours with a six hour layover between. The kid slept, smiled or ate during all of the flying time. We did have one blowout incident right as the second flight was taking off, but it was easy to clean.
My first time struggling with the language was in the airport of Lima. I was looking forward to a cold salad from Subway cause it was HOT at the airport, and I'd had William strapped to me with a Moby wrap to get through customs and all of that. I ended up accidentally asking for hot mustard on my salad instead of vinegar. it was very very spicy. I didn't end up eating all of it cause I couldn't handle the spice.
One of the coolest things about traveling in Peru is that it feels like anyone who comes though the airport is a celebrity! There are tons of people waiting to greet every person arriving! They are also the friendliest people I have met. I adore the people here already so much and it has only been a few days.
We are staying with a couple here in Peru right now who are just amazing! They have been married for three months, live in the city, and have been the best hosts!
On our first night they immediately greeted us and had another LDS member who had a cab come meet us at the airport. My first experience with traffic in Peru was exhilarating! I realized I am definitely not in Utah anymore. Also, I will never complain about bad utah drivers again. I am sooo glad I do not have to drive here. Most of the roads in the city are dirt, and have a ton of potholes. Trash is burned in the street here. and Pedestrians most certainly do not have the right of way. But I think of driving like being on a roller coaster and it makes it fun ;) I'm going to try and get a good video of what it is like being in a mototaxi going through the city soon.
Our first day was a whirlwind. I woke up excited to explore the new surroundings. We went to the market (for shoes), the supermarket (for food), spent time with our Rocio's family who are very sweet and fun, went to the beach for the sunset (one of the best sunsets of my life), and then attempted to go to see the avengers in theatre but it was sold out!!! Such a fun and crazy day. William LOVED it all, and especially loved all the attention from the girls in Rocio's family. he is a little flirt.
Our second day we were able to go to church. It was at 8 in the morning. Everyone was so sweet and talked to us asking us about William. They love how bald he is lol. I think he had at least 50 people rub his head. Also, it is super hot and humid here! Like Houston but without A/C. the church building has A/C but they don't turn it on cause it is too cold for them when they have never really had it before. We napped long and hard after lunch and a shower after church, called our parents to assure them that we were alive and well, then spent the evening chatting with Roberto and Rocio.
Today has been fairly laid back so far, which is good cause my body is finally adjusting to the food and not in the best way ;) but we are doing well. Starting to get some work done and going to the park in the city today.
The next post should have some pics and possibly videos :)

No comments:

Post a Comment