Last night we had our first screening here. It was pretty rough. Both Bradley and I have a lot of kinks to work out in what we are doing, but I think we will be able to make the adjustments and do some serious good here. Another hard part is seeing these malnourished children. I feel for them so much. I can tell how badly these mothers would love to have healthy, well nourished children, but they don't have the resources. It breaks my heart. I am so grateful to have such a healthy, strong baby boy.
The screening was chaotic. i have trouble understanding the language to begin with, but it was really discouraging realizing how much I have to learn. It was worse too because I would get frustrated and it would be harder to remember the words. I need to work on that.
Bradley was also frustrated because speaking and writing are different and he struggled with translating the survey into Spanish, and it needs a lot of work. Thank goodness for this test run!
It's only been a week tomorrow, and I already feel like I've changed. I will never be the same person again. And that is probably a good thing.
Earlier in the day we went to a fantastic museum here! First time seeing another tourist, and also first time having A/C since getting here.
After the screening we decided to chill for a bit before dinner and go to one of the many gorgeous parks here with Rocio's family.
Oh and did I mention that my baby is 4 months old??? How is time going by so fast?!








No comments:
Post a Comment